The Perfect Road Trip – A Dream

 

The Destination

Few months back, I started watching the TV-series, 90210. The show is set and shot in and around California. The breath-taking scenic beauties depicted in the series have led to an insane obsession on my part to visit the place. And so, my idea of a Perfect Road Trip involves driving on the Pacific Coastline of California via Lake Tahoe and Napa Valley to reach Las Vegas!\

 

The Companions

I met few amazing people back when I was in Bhilai. Two of them continued to be an integral part f my life even after I left the place. One is my best friend, Alisha. The other is my alter-ego, Isha. The journey I talk of above is a dream. And so is living my dream with these two! (I miss you guys)

Other than people, there would be a DSLR, loads of food and drinks, and not to forget, Ambi Pur!

 

The Car

I have always, always wanted to own a Lamborghini. But since none comes with a seating capacity of four, I am “settling” for a black BMW M6 convertible. “Weaving Dreams” should go on the ECA section of my resume.

 

The Route

open_sea

Monterey Bay Aquarium

 

My perfect road trip shall begin in Monterey. There are many places to visit in this town, such as, the Royal Presidio Chapel, Monterey State Historic Park, Custom House, Casa Soberanes, Larkin House etc. The one that I want to go to, however, is the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The aquarium displays thousands of plants and animals, representing more than 600 species, which include stingrays, jellyfish, sea otters, bluefin and yellowfin tuna, Giant Kelps and great white sharks, amongst many others.

 

5867106-Twisty_roads_for_hours_Big_Sur

En route Big Sur

Driving three miles south on Highway 1, we would spend an evening or two, walking down the streets, shopping and dining, and relaxing in one of the cottages in Carmel. After Carmel comes the highlight of our road trip – driving through the Pacific Coast Highway to reach the Big Sur. This enchanting rugged coastline stretches to about 90 miles. An early morning drive to the place, hair flowing in the coastal wind and bottles of our favorite drinks in our hands, the moments would inscribe themselves in our memories forever, one heavenly glimpse at a time.

home-slideshow-02

The Hearst Castle

 

 

From there we would drive on to the Hearst Castle by the evening and spend a couple of days at the majestic mansion visiting various art exhibits and enjoying the exquisite European setting of the mansion.

napa-valley

“Wine is bottled poetry.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

 

 

 

Driving early in the morning, we would head for the Napa Valley. It is one of the largest wine regions in the world. We would explore the expanse in a hot-air balloon and in the evening go for wine-tasting. This reminds me, the three of us have never drunk together. Oh wait, we are yet to reach our final destination. 😀

lake-tahoe

Lake Tahoe

 

Moving on from Napa Valley we would head for Lake Tahoe. It is one of the largest fresh water lakes in the world. And from what I have heard, it is absolutely breath-taking. The lake lies on the border of Nevada. And so, we drive a little more and there we are. Las Vegas! There’s so much to do there! I am pretty sure you are a fan of ‘Hangover’ and need no introduction to the place. And if haven’t seen the film yet, please do.

 

To avoid getting unnecessary phone calls from my family members about my weird intentions and fantasies, I shall not mention what we would do there other than visiting the desert. (That would be safe). Nevertheless, you can let your imagination soar.

I sincerely hope that none of us would be married when this actually happens. And even if any of us are, what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas. 😀

welcome-to-las-vegas-nevada

 

P.S. This blog post is my entry for THE PERFECT ROAD TRIP contest organized by Indiblogger and Ambi Pur India.

 

P.P.S. This is a very special blog post. And very close to what I want in life. I am grateful to Indiblogger for providing me an opportunity that made me think on so many grounds and gave me a clearer view of what I want from myself and my life. It was not very easy to pick the perfect companions. But it also made me realize who, of all the people I have met, have made the maximum impact on my life. If this comes true, ever, and I will sincerely make sure it does, I will be rich and happy.

 

4 thoughts on “The Perfect Road Trip – A Dream

Leave a Reply

