Before Sunrise

 

 

Do you look at me

Like I gaze at you?

Sending your way, for hours

An invisible ray of tangled thoughts –

Fading silhouettes of eternal scars

Frozen tears clung to happy reminiscence

Dreams muddled with fears

And yet a fluttering hope

Crowning every disappointment

Travel for miles, Oh Moon!

Lone amongst a million stars

Do you feel the way I do?

Sending my way, for hours,

Your luminous rays, mystic and cold,

(And colder, your substance)

Glorious messengers of your odious seclusion,

Seek companionship in trivial mortals,

Fail and hide in shame, every night

Behind sinister mists and eerie clouds

Continually, before sunrise

And return unsatiated every morn.

 

 

18 thoughts on “Before Sunrise

  1. Certain emotions, silent conversation, contemplation, loneliness are all precursor to something, which is symbolically conveyed by “Before Sunrise”. This is wonderful.
    You always come up with something which surpasses your previous work. That’s the evolution which everyone should aim for.

  2. “Fail and hide in shame, every night
    Behind sinister mists and eerie clouds”
    Oh!! sinister mist… eerie clouds!!
    Fail and hide in shame !!
    lovely… lovely

  3. Al right, You’ve got me hooked. This is by far one of the most beautiful poems I have read in some time. The personification is simply classic. I have always thought of writing a verse or two as a tribute to those jewels that shine unconditionally for us in the night; the moon or the stars. I think I’ll give my attempt on moon a rest because whatever I come up will nowhere be near to this piece. And when moon already has a tribute like this, I don’t think he would care to take a look at mine. πŸ˜€

    • By the way, do let me know when you write something for the moon or stars whatever. The moon is so gorgeous that no number of poems will ever be enough to compliment it πŸ™‚
      Good Luck! πŸ™‚

      • Hehe. That is true. I always tend to refer to stars and moon in my poems. You can yourself see that in my writings. They have always inspired me just like they have inspired the rest of mankind. There is a sense of tranquil that we associate these things with. And as rightly said by someone: “Deeper the silence, higher the inspiration.” πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

